Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Archive for February 22nd, 2010

Oh no not again…

with 4 comments

I am sure that everyone has heard about or seen news reports about Tiger Woods.  As tired as I am of hearing about his infidelity, I recently READ two conflicting blogs about the reason he is receiving so much publicity. Tiger Woods is definitely not the first married man to be unfaithful to his wife so why all the hype? ONE of the blogs said that it is because he is black (along with other ethnicities) and that they simply want to tarnish his clean record. On the other hand, the OTHER blog claimed it is because he is a successful golfer and the media just loves to villanize celebrities and professional athletes. I personally DONT think that his race has anything to do with it. I think he is receiving a lot of attention simply because he is FAMOUS. While I definitely dont condone his behavior I think that it is unfortunate that some people get a kick out of watching stars struggle. Almost like saying “see they’re not better than us.”

Written by deanna15

February 22, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

assuming

with one comment

Have you ever heard the saying “To assume is to make an a** out of u and me?” Well in this case assuming is only making an a** out of them.

Like I have said in previous posts, I am a product of an interracial marriage. I am a mutt mixed with half Malay and the other half Italian and Polish (identified as white). Frankly, I don’t know if it’s just this common assumption people have, but people always assume that in an interracial marriage where someone of Asian decent is marry someone not of the same race, well then it’s an Asian woman doing so. When an old Asian woman walks by on campus, people who don’t know me well, joke by saying “there goes your mom,” assuming that my mother is of Asian Decent. I always sarcastically go “HAHA,” which the jokester thinks I am laughing at them for their idiotic joke, but I am actually sarcastically laughing because of the punch line I am about to give. With a straight face I drop the bomb, “my mom is white!” DUMB BUTT!!! I don’t understand why people assume that my mother is Asian… I don’t think anyone whose guessed which one of my parents is of what race, guessed the correct one.

Written by jeanliiping

February 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

What makes you racist?

with 2 comments

So i know the idea of calling individual people racist is pointless on a large scale and serves no purpose. However, I think I’m having a hard time even figuring out what racist is anymore. It seems to me that no matter what anyone says or does, they are not racist as long as they say they are not racist. Does racism imply that you are intentionally offensive or discriminating? Today it seems that anyone can say/do whatever they want, apologize for it, and that makes them a good person who just had a slip up.

Written by mzlisarenee

February 22, 2010 at 5:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Genocide

with one comment

I have a friend that mention the rwanda genocide and how the people where handed race cards. This eventually led to hatred and the genocide. It made me think about how the military wanted to not let gay in the army or that they should not say it out loud. I think they are afraid of something like the genocide happening. If people where to say they are gay then it would lead to hatred in the army. I think this is absurb. I believe that if gays want to fight for their country they should be allow to

Written by emefad

February 22, 2010 at 5:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Compton Cook-Out

with 5 comments

Each week before I blog, I go to google news section and type racism and see what I find. This week’s article of choice was particularly interesting. Apparently, a fraternity at University of California San Diego decided to throw a Compton Cook-Out party. Sounds simple enough. Their description of proper attire included the following:

For guys: I expect all males to be rockin Jersey’s, stuntin’ up in ya White T (XXXL smallest size acceptable), anything FUBU, Ecko, Rockawear, High/low top Jordans or Dunks, Chains, Jorts, stunner shades, 59 50 hats, Tats, etc.

For girls: For those of you who are unfamiliar with ghetto chicks-Ghetto chicks usually have gold teeth, start fights and drama, and wear cheap clothes – they consider Baby Phat to be high class and expensive couture. They also have short, nappy hair, and usually wear cheap weave, usually in bad colors, such as purple or bright red. They look and act similar to Shenaynay, and speak very loudly, while rolling their neck, and waving their finger in your face. Ghetto chicks have a very limited vocabulary, and attempt to make up for it, by forming new words, such as “constipulated”, or simply cursing persistently, or using other types of vulgarities, and making noises, such as “hmmg!”, or smacking their lips, and making other angry noises,grunts, and faces. The objective is for all you lovely ladies to look, act, and essentially take on these “respectable” qualities throughout the day.

Somehow this Facebook event was leaked to local news stations and eventually caused an uproar by the citizens. People accused this fraternity of being a bunch of racist white kids who had pushed the racial envelope too far. I disagree. After reading through the event description, I couldn’t find a single instance where it mentioned dressing up like black or latino kids or any other minority for that matter. In my opinion, people that dress or act “ghetto” were never of any particular color or race. I’ve seen plenty of “ghetto” black, white, asian, or hispanic kids in my days and, as with many other situations in our society, these people severely overreacted to some kids having a costume party.

Written by mvmia16

February 22, 2010 at 3:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Nappy Hair

with 6 comments

I was on the bus one day and heard these two girls having a conversation.  A white guy with dreads was on the bus and I heard them say to each other, why does that guy want to have nappy hair like a black person. This really made me upset because even though Black people are usually the ones with dreads it does not make their hair nappy. In fact there is no such thing as nappy hair. Black hair is extremely curly and that is what people fail to understand, so they label it as nappy hair. People need to try to be more informed about hair textures and styles.

Written by eclass08

February 22, 2010 at 1:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized