Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Archive for February 4th, 2010

Big Rims and Stereotypes

with 5 comments

When some people see cars sitting on big rims such as 22’s or bigger they automatically think the owner of the car is a drug dealer. That’s not always the case. Everywhere I look someone has rims on their car. But every car with rims on it doesn’t mean they have to slang dope to get that car and those rims.

I met my auntie one weekend at the movies. She drives a silver Monte Carlo with 22’s on it. My car is an impala with 22’s on it. Someone made a comment, “What yall do sell drugs?” However, when I use to stay in Jennings Hall I saw this white girl who attended UF with a silver Dodge Charger with 22’s on it. I’m sure that’s not what come to mind when people see her car. Is it because she is white? I don’t know.

Written by misssandib

February 4, 2010 at 6:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized