Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Archive for February 2nd, 2010

Mentoring the “under privileged” students

with 7 comments

I am an Education major and my first semester at UF, I had to mentor an “under privileged” student. To me, I felt like this was a way for the College of Ed. to discriminate students because all the schools that were participating in this were on the East side of town.  The majority of the students enrolled in this program were black. Why was it that the  COE pinpointed these children to be the only “under privileged” in the county?   I felt like this was not really fair to other students in the school system that may have benefitted from the opportunity to have a mentor.

Written by melp8

February 2, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

with 2 comments

As a high school graduate from Florida, I do not feel that the education system implanted in our high schools is the best to prepare students for college. For one teachers assign a lot of busy work and students are focused on “the grade” more than learning the material. While grades are important I think taking the time to make sure students understand the material discussed is a better way to prepare for college. In many college courses students may not be tested weekly or bi-weekly, but may be given a mid-term and final. In those courses the student is responsible for learning and understanding the material up to that point. Because of the obvisious difference in education systems many students struggle with keeping up in their classes during their first year.

Written by tayokam

February 2, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

The Cleveland show and Family Guy

with 2 comments

when we discussed if the cleveland show was offesive to blacks, it made me think about Family guy and how I used to ask myself that same question. I don’t find it offensive because if you do watch both of these shows or even just family guy, then you know that Seth Mcfarlan(the creator) has made it where every race has been depicted. whether it be blacks, Asians, Hispanics, or whites. the reason I don’t so much as mind is because were talking about family guy and the cleveland show. they make fun of everything and everyone.  sometimes it’s okay to just laugh at some of these stereotypes that are in these shows which you here everyday. I honestly don’t think the creators set out to target any race.

Written by alyssa1965

February 2, 2010 at 3:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized