Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

with 2 comments

As a high school graduate from Florida, I do not feel that the education system implanted in our high schools is the best to prepare students for college. For one teachers assign a lot of busy work and students are focused on “the grade” more than learning the material. While grades are important I think taking the time to make sure students understand the material discussed is a better way to prepare for college. In many college courses students may not be tested weekly or bi-weekly, but may be given a mid-term and final. In those courses the student is responsible for learning and understanding the material up to that point. Because of the obvisious difference in education systems many students struggle with keeping up in their classes during their first year.

Written by tayokam

February 2, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree. I remember from high school that during class most of the time the teachers would just have us doing chapter review questions while they just sat at their desk grading papers, and even though the teachers would tell us to do the work on our own, no one ever did. College is a big shocker for a lot of students because you have to learn to be self sufficient and study for tests ahead of time.

    cristyb7513

    February 2, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  2. I don’t necessarily agree with you. I did the IB program at my high school, and I definitely worked very hard throughout my high school years. I can say that I was taught by very smart and intelligent teachers. I went to rich private schools up until my freshman year of high school and I can say that I will never send my children to private school. I guess I just had a different public school experience.

    amgostigian

    February 5, 2010 at 8:28 pm


Leave a Reply

