Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

The Cleveland show and Family Guy

with 2 comments

when we discussed if the cleveland show was offesive to blacks, it made me think about Family guy and how I used to ask myself that same question. I don’t find it offensive because if you do watch both of these shows or even just family guy, then you know that Seth Mcfarlan(the creator) has made it where every race has been depicted. whether it be blacks, Asians, Hispanics, or whites. the reason I don’t so much as mind is because were talking about family guy and the cleveland show. they make fun of everything and everyone.  sometimes it’s okay to just laugh at some of these stereotypes that are in these shows which you here everyday. I honestly don’t think the creators set out to target any race.

Written by alyssa1965

February 2, 2010 at 3:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree, the people who watch these shows are mostly between the ages of 15-25 and considering that the show touches on making fun of everyone and everything, this audience doesn’t particularly mind. I have noticed though, that older generations feel that it is much more offensive than the view of the current generation

    cgator19

    February 3, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  2. I agree I love family guy and I dont find the show offensive at all. I think its good to be able to laugh at all the bogus stereotypes there are in the world and not take everything so seriously.

    taishae

    February 6, 2010 at 7:10 pm


Leave a Reply

