Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Mentoring the “under privileged” students

with 7 comments

I am an Education major and my first semester at UF, I had to mentor an “under privileged” student. To me, I felt like this was a way for the College of Ed. to discriminate students because all the schools that were participating in this were on the East side of town.  The majority of the students enrolled in this program were black. Why was it that the  COE pinpointed these children to be the only “under privileged” in the county?   I felt like this was not really fair to other students in the school system that may have benefitted from the opportunity to have a mentor.

Written by melp8

February 2, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I definetly agreee with what your saying but I think you should realize what you meant to that child. That student seeing you make it as a college student that’s probaly an unreachable goal in their mind. I hate as well that different organizations and programs try to display these kids as a “charity case” but I always think of the bigger picture and let it go.

    ineeduf

    February 3, 2010 at 3:33 am

    • Actually the girl I was paired up with told me that she hated having to spend time with me. She expected me to “give” her something everytime I came. It was honestly the worst experience I had since working with different schools/kids during college. I had to make the best of it because I was required to be there whether she was spending that hour with me twice a week or not. I think that the COE should expand the program to work with kids of all schools and economic statuses versus those on the East side.

      melp8

      February 3, 2010 at 3:44 am

  2. I feel that these kids were underprivileged because they were underprivileged, not because they were black. The program didn’t place you there to work with underprivileged black kids, they placed you there to work with underprivileged kids who happen to be black.

    cgator19

    February 3, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    • But why was EVERY student from the East side of town? Why was EVERY student in the program black? What about white kids or hispanic kids that are underprivileged?

      I’m just saying that I feel the program didn’t offer any diversity in showing us as future educators that all races, ethnicities, etc can be living in or close to poverty not just blacks.

      melp8

      February 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  3. I agree with the above poster, you said in your post “The majority of the students enrolled in this program were black.” This doesn’t mean that ALL of the students in the program were black. Even if they were, the majority of those in poverty or in an “under-privileged” status are of african american descent. I’m sure there were whites, hispanics, and other races a part of the program as well. You just didn’t see them. I don’t think it was the programs intention to be discriminatory; that seems a ridiculous motive for a charitable cause whose primary focus is helping children.

    devaio24

    February 3, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  4. I also volunteer with an after school program at an elementary school on the East side of town. Before we started there they did point out that about 95% of the kids who attended the school were African American. If I were to only look at that piece of information, it would strike me as odd. However, I also had to take into account all the other information they gave me, such as the fact that 95% are on welfare or have either free or reduced lunch at school. That the school was rated as an ‘F’ school or that 20% were in ESE classes…..when you look at these facts it makes you realize the real reason that you are there. It’s not because of the race of the children, but much more than that.

    elianita514

    February 6, 2010 at 6:25 am

  5. The reason being is that a lot of sororities and fraternities and other charitable causes in Gainesville focus on other parts of Gainesville, and sometimes the others who need help. So there are a lot charities who focus on that side of town, which is majority of Black so that the help is spread around. Also, Gainesville has a very large Black poverty population (actually a very large poverty population period) which becomes apparent when you step off campus and away from University ave. and actually get to know the people who live here. For most of these kids, the university students who come will be the only help they receive. But you’re always welcome to volunteer in other areas if you wish.

    mzlisarenee

    February 6, 2010 at 9:05 pm


Leave a Reply

