Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

assuming

with one comment

Have you ever heard the saying “To assume is to make an a** out of u and me?” Well in this case assuming is only making an a** out of them.

Like I have said in previous posts, I am a product of an interracial marriage. I am a mutt mixed with half Malay and the other half Italian and Polish (identified as white). Frankly, I don’t know if it’s just this common assumption people have, but people always assume that in an interracial marriage where someone of Asian decent is marry someone not of the same race, well then it’s an Asian woman doing so. When an old Asian woman walks by on campus, people who don’t know me well, joke by saying “there goes your mom,” assuming that my mother is of Asian Decent. I always sarcastically go “HAHA,” which the jokester thinks I am laughing at them for their idiotic joke, but I am actually sarcastically laughing because of the punch line I am about to give. With a straight face I drop the bomb, “my mom is white!” DUMB BUTT!!! I don’t understand why people assume that my mother is Asian… I don’t think anyone whose guessed which one of my parents is of what race, guessed the correct one.

Written by jeanliiping

February 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow, I can honestly said that I too am guilty of this. When you mentioned your mixture of race, I automaticly assumed your mother was asian and your dad was white. I guess because usually in asian and white interracail relatioships, the mom is asian and the dad is white. However, you are right, we shouldn’t assume. I totally apologize for that!!!! Things that make you go hmmmm!!!!!

    beatitkid

    February 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

