Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

step show (blacks only)

with 6 comments

My girlfriends parents came up for the weekend and were surprised to see so many people walking around, she lives across the street from the o’connel center where the step show is being held tonight, and she explained that the step show was taking place today and her parents responded and said oh no wonder they’re all black. I was surprised because since they are hispanics i would think that they would not be people to discriminate since they are part of a minority themselves. It just surprises me when a minority discriminates and kinda forgets they’re a minority as well.

Written by dgomez823

February 21, 2010 at 3:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember one of the readings that we had described how Hispanics may hold especially racist attitudes towards blacks. Personally, from my own experience, I would say that I have been around plenty of Hispanics that could not even stand blacks. A friend of mine told me that if her family ever found out she were dating a black man then they would disown her, and she seemed pretty serious. I don’t think that just because they are a minority they sympathize with all other minorities. In fact, I believe blacks can hold stereotypes on their own race. I feel as though it is all just a result of their individual upbringing and the values taught to them early on in life.

    mvmia16

    February 22, 2010 at 12:50 am

  2. It is true. I see it in my own family sometimes and my culture. Africans have a tendency to discriminate against black Americans

    emefad

    February 22, 2010 at 4:53 am

  3. I don’t think we can assume just because people are labeled as minorities in America they are all going to come together as brothers and sisters and help each other. While ideally all groups would work together for common goals, its a naive idea to think that Mexicans will identify with Jamaican-Americans, or any other 2 minority groups, just because they are minorities.

    mzlisarenee

    February 22, 2010 at 5:59 am

  4. Even though certain races/ethnicities are labeled as “minorities” in society, many times they engage in ethnocentrism. Meaning that they think that their race/ethnicity is better than another. This is a shame because technically we are all still seen as inferior to Whites.

    deanna15

    February 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  5. Racism within minorities occurs alot and it is not limited to just whites versus everybody else. Some blacks discriminate against other blacks if they aren’t “black enough” or act as if they are white. They call them siddidy and outcast them as if they are not the same race.

    bmcdaniel91

    February 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  6. I feel like some people tend to get uppedy or snooty when they get to higher levels and forget where they come from. But I’m not surprised about that comment

    gwendo89

    March 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm


Leave a comment