Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

The New Generation

leave a comment »

I think our younger generation, those going through elementary and middle school right now, will be much more likely to be racially accepting than us.  I kind of view the 80’s as a very stagnant time regarding race relations while I believe the 90’s and 00’s to have been much more fruitful in fighting this good fight.  I realize that this is only my opinion but with the ultra-conservatism in the 80’s and that Reagan Era return to this purist sense of society that we called “Morning In America”, I think that we may have lost some ground during that time.  It seems to me that the kids today aren’t as naive as I was toward race problems, in other words, they are more informed by their teachers and parent that they exist  and that racist behavior isn’t tolerated anymore.  I hope that I am correct in having this optimistic opinion on this issue.

Written by mwgoulet

April 29, 2010 at 7:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

