Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

My Momma

leave a comment »

My mom is a southern lady from Jacksonville, FL, and she wouldn’t have it any other way. I know that she has her racial hang ups and that she tries to change, or at least I think, and she would have me think, that she tries to change. One time I remember being angry with her two years ago because she was trying to visit me here in Gainesville and she lost her way once she got in the city. She called me from her cell phone and told me that she was on the east side of town at a gas station. She had to use the bathroom really badly so she stopped. When she told me where she was she mentioned how scared she was because of all the black people around. She is a very emotional lady and all I could picture was her clutching her purse and looking at all the men in a paranoid manner. I was still on the phone with her and sternly told her to calm down and just leave. After she got to my apartment I told her that it is not okay to act that way in a public place and that her behavior probably offended someone or multiple people, especially if anyone had heard our conversation. She didn’t seem to understand.

Written by mwgoulet

April 29, 2010 at 5:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

