Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

HBCU/PWI

leave a comment »

Every time that I go home and reunite with family friends, or people that I haven’t seen in a long time, they always ask me what college I attend. I will never forget the time that I told one of my mother’s friends that I went to the University of Florida. She scrunched her face up as if she smelled something foul. She asked me did I like it there and why I didn’t attend a HBCU such as Bethune Cookman University or Florida A&M University. I told her that UF was a terrific school and I just felt that it was a better fit for me. I felt as though my mother’s friend thought that I was some sort of traitor because I did not want to attend a HBCU. This is sometimes the case in the Black community, where African Americans believe that students should go to an HBCU vs a PWI because they feel that they would get a better understanding of Black History. I personally feel that schools should be as diverse as possible and that is one of the reason why I came to the University of Florida.

Written by eclass08

April 27, 2010 at 8:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

