Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

article in alligator

with 3 comments

One of my friends (who is a non-athlete) told me I had to read an article that was in the Alligator that made male athletes seem like SLORES (slut/whore). The article was an interview with a basketball player, whose transfering, and there was one line that pretty much seperated girls by there race. He states:

”The Caucasian girls tend to notice the basketball players more,” he said. “The African-American girls don’t really know if you score or not,” Shipman said. “They go on the basis of ‘He’s an athlete. He’s attractive.’ But then the better you get, they start noticing. It’s a big difference.”
(http://www.alligator.org/the_avenue/sex/article_70c03c9e-482f-11df-a42c-001cc4c002e0.html#user-comment-area)

So he basically is saying the white women notice you if your a STAR athlete, but black women notice if your an athlete period. I don’t think his statement is 100% true, but i think it depends on the person.

Being a female there is some truth to what he is saying, but at the same time for those strong independent women who aren’t like he is saying it makes me furious. First off he isn’t cute to be getting all these supposed girls he is getting. I can go on for days about this topic, but i hope that women realize that we have the power. So don’t put yourself in the position to get the name “groupie” or “cleat chaser.” Shoot, I’d rather hang out in front of shands looking for a doctor than by South Endzone.

Written by jeanliiping

April 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That article also made me angry. Some athletes on this campus are very cocky, and will make some ignorant statements if you don’t give them the time of day when they try to flirt with you. I was once told that I was siddity and that white girls are always the life of the party. I was so stunned by this comment I didn’t know what to say. These athletes need to wake up and realize that it isn’t all about them.

    eclass08

    April 20, 2010 at 6:40 pm

  2. I agree, I’d rather be on a doctor than an athlete any day. These athletes walk on campus like they the big men on campus. I feel like some girls do act like groupies and cling to them for odd reasons and that is a shame. However, not to knock any of them but f I was some of these athletes I would have taken an advantage of this FREE education and not give up on school. Getting a degree and then going to pro’s is a great decision.

    misssandib

    April 23, 2010 at 1:54 am

    • I 100% agree with you and it does depend on the perosn. Its sad how these athletes have all these groupies. And like shipman said some of the girls are famous and dont even know it. its also sad the athletes thinks its fine to be whores. All of it is bad. but thinking about it i think the whores and groupies should get with the whore athletes so the strong and independent women can have a chance at the strong and independent men.

      misscandib21

      April 25, 2010 at 1:55 am


Leave a Reply

