Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Ignorance

with 6 comments

After being accepted to the University of Florida, I could not help but think about how I would be attending a place of higher learning, a place harboring thousands of intelligent people, where I could finally escape the ignorance of the average uneducated person. Upon arriving here I came in with an open mind and assumed that the past issues of racism that I encountered on a daily basis would not even arise when interacting with intelligent, educated people. I was wrong. I’m astonished at all the instances of blatant racism and ignorance that people are still blogging about on here. I guess you can’t ever truly escape the inherently narrow-minded and as this class has taught me, we’re a long way from escaping these ignorant mindsets in the world around us.

Written by iAnsw3R

April 18, 2010 at 2:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes! Sadly no matter where you go, it seems like racism exists everywhere, even in educated individuals.

    elianita514

    April 18, 2010 at 2:55 am

  2. If you thought you could get away from all of that by attending the prestigious University of Florida, I’m sure you would be blown away by how persistent these same sentiments are shown throughout most of the Ivy League universities. It is just my assumption, but I feel as though the same predominately white families that run this country and decide on the majority of policies that go into place are also attending these places of higher learning. It has been shown that minorities need to work much harder to make it to the same level that these white students have and I’m sure the white students there have a feeling of superiority.

    mvmia16

    April 19, 2010 at 4:01 am

  3. Hey can I contact you to discuss what we went over in today’s class? My flight from STL got cancelled and am stuck here until tonight. My number is 904.885.0321. My name is Micah. If you could, please call me and give me a quick rundown about what Prof Niles discussed regarding the final exam review. It would really help me out. Thanks.

    mwgoulet

    April 19, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  4. PS- I’m the tall guy who talks too much in class, lawlz.

    mwgoulet

    April 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  5. Any place with people, an opinion and a mouth you will get ignorance. some of the smartest people can act dumb and say the dumbest things. this is because they don’t think before they speak or they don’t care what they say.

    misssandib

    April 23, 2010 at 2:01 am

  6. Many of people’s views about race come from how they are raised. It doesn’t really have alot to do with their education. If you are brought up by racist parents, that will stay with you in most cases for your entire life.

    dippity09

    April 24, 2010 at 12:09 am


Leave a Reply

