Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

‘Ape Escape’

with 2 comments

So tonight is Ape Escape, one of the biggest parties of the year put on by Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.. A bunch of my friends were going and I really wanted to go as well, but I had to pass because of all the things that I need to get done. So here I am on the computer getting some work done, while on facebook of course, and an old friend of mine messages me. Basically, when I told her how I decided not to go, she instantly replied telling me how it was all going to be Black people anyway. I sat there in shock for a good moment, sort of suprised that she would say something like that so bluntly. She’s never even been to the event and really knows nothing about it, except that the Alpha’s are the one’s who put it on each year. When I questioned her on why she was making such assumptions, she said how she didn’t mean anything by it, but she implied that I would probably not be comfortable and wouldn’t fit in. It makes me sad knowing that people feel this way. Still at this day in age people are scared to go out of their comfort zone and mix with ‘other’ people. They are intimated and therefor stay locked up in their little bubble. I wish people would just learn to try out new things, so that maybe these imaginary lines between that separate each race could be broken down.

Written by elianita514

April 18, 2010 at 3:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree. I also went to this event tonight, and have some sisters that were uncomfortable, or even worse some that chose not to go because they didn’t feel they would fit in. The sad part is that we are in the Multicultural Greek Council, our aim is to spread awareness about different cultures yet they are not willing to step out of their own culture.

    lp0812

    April 18, 2010 at 9:45 am

  2. Being a new member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, this saddens me that people of other races don’t want to come out to some of the councils events because of the race of people in attendance. UF is suppose to be the land of diversity, but how can you learn and be diverse if you are afraid to venture outside of your comfort zone.

    eclass08

    April 20, 2010 at 7:01 pm


Leave a Reply

