Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

SYD 3700

with 2 comments

Prior to this class I felt like I had a great understanding of racism and all of the things that are associated with racism, but after taking this class I now know for sure that I know way much more information on racism than I ever did before. This class have made me realized that although racism is a big issue in this country, it shouldn’t be something that we should be scared of when it comes to talking about it because the only way to go forward is to talk about it and figure out ways to move forward. When I first signed up for this class I didn’t know what to expect and now I can honestly say that I have learned so much that will help shape my views on issues such as racism, segregation, affirmative action, and all the things that we talked about in class in a positive way and I would strongly recommend this class to anyone because if we can educate more people about issues like that a small portion at a time, it would do a lot of goods for the communities that we live in given the fact that there are a lot of people out there who are clueless when it comes to issues like those we have discussed in class throughout this semester.

Written by jobyjob

April 17, 2010 at 1:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally agree that this class has made me see things differently. I gained better understanding about the mindset of people on race. I am truly glad I took this class and I hope the things I learn stay with me and that I remember them when I react with people in the future.

    emefad

    April 17, 2010 at 10:29 am

  2. This being my last Sociology class taken at UF I was aware of most of the racial problems in the United States but there were many instances in the class that new ideas were put in my head from the various readings and discussions. I will take many things that I learned from this class with me after UF.

    mato89

    April 17, 2010 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

