Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

All black people are from Africa

with 4 comments

Lately I noticed that when white people ask me where am I from, as far as my family background, they expect me to say Africa. My parents are from Panama which is in Central America and this makes them Hispanic. When I try to explain that their next question is always did I trace my roots back to Africa. I always think that maybe if my skin was lighter like other Hispanics from Puerto Rico I wouldn’t be asked that questions. I feel that in their eyes all black people come from Africa and my family has never mentioned anything about Africa or slavery to me when we discuss our family history. As far as I’m concerned my parents are from Panama and they are hispanic.

Written by taishae

April 16, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely understand you. People think that the only ethnicities that are black came from Africa at one point or another. There are many hispanic countries whose people are naturally dark skinned. I am from Nicaragua and the natives from there are extremely dark skinned as well. Little by little, people are learning to discount the biological stereotypes of races.

    dippity09

    April 17, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  2. People tend to match skin color with ethnicity even though that seems ignorant. It is hard for people to go beyond their own social conventions.

    dmg24

    April 17, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  3. I think that Americans assume all blacks are from Africa because blacks are more often than not referred to as African Americans. This however, does not excuse their ignorance.

    lehnertsl

    April 17, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  4. It just shows how stupid the idea of race is. Some people are categorized by what area of the world they or their parents were born in. Others are characterized by the pigment of their skin. The more I think about it, the less race, as determined by humans, makes sense. If race were as clear cut as people try to make it, people wouldn’t be having such difficulty with the census the way they do.

    mzlisarenee

    April 18, 2010 at 1:32 am


Leave a Reply

