Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Obama = “Niggardly”!?!

with 2 comments

OK, so last week I wrote about the book called “Stop Being Niggardly”, Well this week I found another issues related to this word. Someone put up a sign on the front of a business that says that reads Obama = niggardly and that he hurts small biz. Another part of the sign says Buck Obama.” Now after watching this video it is very clear to me that the context in which the word was used could mean selfish; but I know tha’st not what the people who made this sign mean. They could have used many other word to describe the president being selfish but they choose that one. And the busniess owner is acting as if the sign is normal. I secretly feel that she was the one who put it up. I don’t know. Watch the video and tell me what you think? Am I overreacting? Is this a harmless mistake?

Written by rphilp88

April 14, 2010 at 12:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It amazes me that when these people put up their signs about our biracial president, because he is not just one race, they use some kind of discriminatory word but say their not racist and was completely heading their message in another direction. To me this is just straight up BS.

    alyssa1965

    April 14, 2010 at 3:36 am

  2. This is horrible, the main reason they put up the word niggardly was because Obama is a black man. These people are simply racists; if the message was to say that they think Obama is selfish, why couldn’t they just say selfish. I’ve noticed that throughout obama’s term that there are mostly white people who are going up in arms and making racial slurrs publicly. I wonder why blacks didn’t show the same disapproval to Bush.

    medusmango

    April 14, 2010 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

