Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

BODY IMAGE

with 3 comments

I understand that body image and skewed self perceptions through media have made this an issue for all individuals and go beyond race and gender for many.  My class just went over the body images for those women who have more curves and how its looked at as oversexualized. I’ve heard the same concept in previous classes as well. I’m currently going through the same thing as a shapely women I severly reached a point where I no longer want as much shape.  Now that I’m in the gym everyday I hear some comments and even today I heard a caucasion girl say I had a “big ass”. I clearly knew that but with previous boyfriends it’s their favorite part of me (body wise). I know its know a preference of all men but is it just African American men that like shapely women?

Written by ineeduf

April 13, 2010 at 3:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No, there are plenty of other races that appreciate shapely women. Actually, I venture to say MOST guys in general regardless of race prefer a girl with some shape, fit, but with curves. Most guys aren’t a big fan of the size zero model on magazine covers, there’s nothing sexy about not eating more than a small salad daily.

    devaio24

    April 13, 2010 at 1:56 pm

  2. I am not black, but i’ve dated only black men except for one time. I feel that all black men like curve and butt. I just think in general black men love a females body for what it is. Caucasian men on the other hand i feel have a different preferance, and there is nothing wrong with that. I I agree with the above comment when they say that no man wants a size zero stick. I think that women should embrace their body and all the features good or bad that come with it. If you are eating healthy and exercising then that is good. The average weight of Americans are high these day.

    jeanliiping

    April 13, 2010 at 3:16 pm

  3. That’s a good question. I think the black and Hispanic/Latino race is the one that has the most appreciation for a shapely woman. But I know that I have some white friends that are attracted to the “thick” girl. But I think that its more of on an individual basis rather than race.

    rphilp88

    April 13, 2010 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

