Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Am I Racist or Just Ignorant?

with 2 comments

I thought about this because of the homework we were assign. Truthfully I do not know how to answer that question anymore. Throughout the whole semester we have been talking about how everyone else is racist.  And we have been looking at the most explicit forms of racism such as calling someone a name, profiling and being prejudice. Until this class I have always thought I was not racist. What I have learned  that this could be problem because that could mean I am just living life pretending race  does not matter. I do know where the balance is anymore. Is it ignorant for me to see people as creations of God and that the color of their skin does not affect the way they act? Is it racist for me to notice that white people tend to talk differently than blacks or is that me noticing a difference? When I notice that small percentage change in our D.N.A that makes us different does it mean I am racist? Is racist to notice the ethnicity of someone?  Is is racist for me to want to be around people like me  in the same way one gravitate to blacks, artists, scientists, mathematicians, girls, Americans and Europeans gravitate toward each other? After this class I can see things I do and things I say that could be turn into racism but I know that my intentions are not racist. I think we are different, none is better than the other and we should celebrate the fact that in this world not everybody looks the same, talks the same and acts the same way. So my question to you is, are you racist?

Written by emefad

April 12, 2010 at 3:10 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I couldn’t agree more…this is what I was talking about in my post last week about us all being so quick to point our someone else as racist, but if we asked someone to judge our own actions, would they find us objectively just as racist??

    I don’t think I am racist just because I don’t have many black friends. I only have 3 girlfriends but about a hundred guy friends, does that make me sexist even though I’m female? No. I don’t think it’s racist to notice differences between races, if anything, it’s respectful. You wouldn’t go to another country and not acknowledge that they do things differently so why not acknowledge other cultures, races, and behaviors in our own nation?

    cgator19

    April 13, 2010 at 1:44 pm

  2. I could be completely wrong, but I don’t think anyone is tryign to say that differences don’t exist between races just as differences exist between individuals. However, the differences come from the way different races are treated in society, today and historically. Personally, I don’t care about pointless differences people point out between me and others such as black hair, brown eyes. It’s when people attach negative labels to me because of my shade that it becomes problematic (aggressive, ignorant, loud, promiscuous etc;). Because there is no one who grew up on an island with a population of one, completely isolated and away from a prejudiced American society, we all hold some prejudices, some much more than others. The key is to use knowledge (and common sense) to minimize these prejudices in every way possible. Again, I could be wrong, but I don’t think the point is to label individuals as racist or not. The point is to end the devastating affects institutional racism has on others through education and awareness.

    mzlisarenee

    April 13, 2010 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

