Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Always accusing others….

with 4 comments

Reading these blogs each week kind of make  me sit back and say “really?” Not because I’m amazed at the amount of “rascism” that is talked about but more so about the amount of accusations that are thrown out. Almost every post accuses someone of something. Sure, maybe some are legtimate racist acts but it’s hard for me to believe that ALL the accusations in the postings are really racist acts.
It seems to me, that any minority can call discrimination or a person racist because of anything. If I walked by a black man and was holding my purse, he could call me a racist for holding it tightly, saying that I’m stereotyping him by thinking he could snatch it. In reality, I’m just holding it how I normally do.
It seems in this day and age, anything and everything can be turned into a racist remark, act, or judgement. I think that is what makes this such a racist country/world because of the fact that everything can be turned around as such. If others would stop accusing others, maybe racism would die..atleast a little.
Written by melp8

April 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree that if people stopped seeing racism in things that truly were innocent, than perhaps racism would die a little. However, if the people who actually have racist mindsets didn’t have them at all, racism would (eventually) die out completely. I cannot speak for others, but I know that I don’t look for things to happen to me. Yet, from past experiences, I expect them to happen so at least I won’t be too surprised/disappointed/hurt when they do. Everything that happens isn’t racism, but with so much racism around it’s understandable that sometimes the innocent gets mistaken for racist too.

    mzlisarenee

    April 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

  2. As we’ve discussed in class, part of the reason racism persist is because there are those who feel that because “they” don’t demonstrate racist behavior, racism is somehow a non-issue or a less problematic issue than it is portayed. Yes, as with all social problems, there are times when things are imagined or taken out of contexts. However, the majority of the time, they are NOT. Exposing racism is the best way of eliminating it. This class was created with the purpose of discussing sensitive racial issues, and it is inevitable that discussions may take an accusatory tone. However, dismissing racism because you don’t personally understand its dynamics can be just as destructive as overt racism.

    chrissybear

    April 12, 2010 at 12:36 am

  3. I agree that at times accusing people of racism and interpreting every comment, remark or act as discriminatory can be a bit overbearing and redundant. However, I don’t think that “trying not to see racism” will lead to its demise or is even possible. In class, the topics do seem to be structured to target Whites but it is important not to take it to heart. If you don’t engage in discriminatory acts and hold no stereotypical views of minorities then what we are learning about doesnt apply to you. But, dont disregard those who have legitimately experienced racism.

    deanna15

    April 12, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  4. this is pretty much exactly what i wrote last week…

    cgator19

    April 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm


Leave a Reply

