Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Academic Advisers

with 8 comments

So my gf went to see an academic advisor because shes doing a double major, spanish and economics, and a minor in chemistry and she wants to do it in 3 years so she had some questions about med school and registering for certain courses. So after the notorious hour long + wait in the advising center she gets called. To my surprise she walked out in less than five minutes. When i asked what happened, she said “you know the first thing she asked me? She asked me if i was a legal resident and made me show her my id”. My gf came from cuba 4 years ago and has a slight accent but even then, what are the chances of an illegal immigrant getting accepted for a loan, or even getting into a college like UF. Dont they ask those kinds of things in your application? I dont know i thought it was a stupid thing to ask. And on top of that the lady didnt override the course registration for orgo 2, because shes taking orgo 1 during summer and she doesnt have the credit yet (duh). Maybe it was because she doesnt like hispanics, or maybe shes just another useless adviser (most tell you what you’ve told yourself “take what you like” and “its up to you”). what do you think?

Written by dgomez823

April 11, 2010 at 4:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yes, it does happen that illegals get into state colleges as well as private ones.

    i dont think she disliked hispanics. why would an advisor override a registration requirement if it’s not a definite that the credits will be earned. i wouldn’t accuse this person of being a racist or disliking a certain race, more so i’d say she was useless as most UF employees are.

    melp8

    April 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  2. I would 100% call her racist (although it’s pointless to label people as racist…) An accent and a certain skin tone are not evidence enough that someone is an illegal immigrant. And even in some imaginary world where that is enough evidence, it is not the advisors job to harass students. It was her job to advise the student on how to have a successful academic career. And asking to see her id? What if your girlfriend had forgotten her id for whatever reason? Would the woman have called immigration or something? She obviously is here trying to get a quality education like everyone else in order to become a contributing member of society. With so many ignorant individuals like this advisor running around, America can certainly use a well educated competent person to balance it out, illegal immigrant or not.

    mzlisarenee

    April 11, 2010 at 8:22 pm

  3. I do not think that the advisor is a racist. I am white and I have waited countless hours at advising offices. I am also been ushered in and out in five minutes. Also, as a pre-professional student I have never been allowed to sign up for courses that I do not have the prerequisites for. Im sorry but I just don’t get where you are seeing this person is racist. Maybe she is told to check ids. I had to show my

    amgostigian

    April 13, 2010 at 1:16 am

    • ID when I went to my advisor as as I staed above I am white.

      amgostigian

      April 13, 2010 at 1:17 am

  4. The part i had a problem with the most was not that she may have been racist (which now that i think she probably wasn’t) but it was the fact that the adviser asked if she was a legal resident and then asked to see her ID, i don’t know anybody that attends UF that is an illegal resident.

    dgomez823

    April 13, 2010 at 2:02 am

  5. There are illegal residents that attend UF, waiting for VISAS or in the process of becoming legal. I don’t think you or your gf should have gotten so upset just because she asked for her ID/citizenship status. Maybe they had a problem recently with immigrant statuses and registration so she was taking extra precautions before assisting.

    devaio24

    April 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm

  6. I don’t know how anybody would get into UF and not be a legal resident of the United States so for her to even ask that was out of line. As far as the in and out service that usually how it always is, sometimes i feel like going to advising is useless if it something you can handle on your own.

    bmcdaniel91

    April 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm

  7. That is so ridiculous I don’t even know what to say! I think that your gf should report her because some type of action needs to be taken so that she does not do that to other students.

    eclass08

    April 20, 2010 at 7:57 pm


Leave a Reply

