Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

tired of racism!

with 6 comments

I love the idea of having blog discussions in a class. This is a great idea because we get to see what our classmates think and stand for. The only bad thing is the topic we have to discuss every week. I hate when i have to seat here and talk about stereotypes or racism. I am not saying that we should avoid this topic, but the fact that i have to find or see things in a racism way depresses me. It is sad that we have to keep this in our minds. I think we shouldn’t forget, but we should not remember when there is nothing that reminds us of this. We need to move on.

P.S: please don’t misunderstand me!

Written by lisbecita

April 10, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. By reading other classmates’ blogs is constantly reminding me of racism and stereotypes in the world. Yes, I do get tired of finding something weekly to talk about. I be wondering what am I going to right about next. I always end up talking about stereotypes though. Doing this for all these weeks after the class end, I’m going to be constantly looking at how our society is SO Fu%$ed up. However, in this lifetime people will always talk about this issue and we will be constantly reminded of it.

    misssandib

    April 11, 2010 at 3:13 am

  2. I agree with you. Every week I have to think of what I want to write about that deals with race/stereotypes or some type of race related issue. These types of issues are not always on my mind and I hate always brining them up. Also agreeing with Sandi’s reply message, this issue will always be present in our society.

    misscandib21

    April 11, 2010 at 3:34 am

  3. I get where you are coming from with this because it sounds monotonous saying the same thing over and over again but for some people stereotypes and racism is a part of their everyday life so I can kind of see why it is still discussed every time.

    rphilp88

    April 11, 2010 at 3:57 am

  4. I would agree with you. I think for me this class has been extremely challenging because I have to actively look for racist acts to write about. I understand that these are issues people face everyday and we should learn about but I think that is why we read those books and read those articles.I wish we did not have to do every week. Maybe twice a month. It is very emotionally exhausting, because of the anger and the sadness that comes from reading the posts.

    emefad

    April 12, 2010 at 2:48 am

  5. If you didn’t want to sit around and talk about racism then you should’ve thought twice about signing up for “Minorities in an American Society”

    amgostigian

    April 13, 2010 at 1:20 am

    • Amgostigian you should try and read THE WHOLE POSTS before you reveal your thoughtful ideas about it! I understand you may be just saying whatever comes to your mind in order for you to get the two comments needed for a grade. If you would have read the whole thing (not just scam through it to get the idea,) you would have understand that I have no problem with the class or talking about racism. My point was that the good idea of the blogs should have been more open to another topics since it makes me sad having to remember how our world is completely full of brainless and foolish people who would jugde others by their looks, ideas, and even comments (as we have seen.)

      lisbecita

      April 13, 2010 at 2:08 am


Leave a Reply

