Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Stop Being Niggardly?

with 5 comments

After coming across an article about this new book called “Stop Being Niggardly”, at first glance, I wasn’t offended or anything, I just wanted to click to find out what the book was all about. When I clicked, and read more about the book, I found out that the word “niggardly” has nothing to do with the “n” word at all. In spite of that, there has been a ton of controversy based around this lady’s book, and the word. In the book, she calls Diddy and Tiger Woods both “niggardly”, because they are stingy with their money. I have looked at all the reviews and comments on Amazon and have found that a bunch of people are in an uproar over this book and the word. If a lot of those folks who are getting angry would stop to actually read a little about the book, they would know it was written by a black woman, and she only wanted to get people talking about issues regarding race, not to come off as a racist. In other words, you’d better know what the word means before you pour your energy into overreacting to it. The book gives a history lesson on race and racism in America, from our urban communities to small-town America. The racial issues Hunter is bold enough to tackle in Stop Being Niggardly affect us all. I’m not sure if I will ever be using this new word, but I know that this is the prime example of when you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

Written by rphilp88

April 6, 2010 at 2:42 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry but if I would have came across this book I would have caused a major uproar at well. Was there no other title that could have been more appropriate??

    alyssa1965

    April 7, 2010 at 6:33 am

  2. She probably titled it that to get a reaction from the public. Isn’t that the point these days, is to get a reaction out of others whether it being some minor or a bigger issue.

    melp8

    April 7, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  3. Although i wouldnt have used that title for a book she probaly did it just to get people interested. Once people see a title like that it begins to draw alot of attention and that’s what she wanted to happen.

    bmcdaniel91

    April 8, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  4. I really think she could’ve used a better title for this book, yes she probably did it for the attention and media but I think this is just wrong. I don’t think it’s appropiate to use these sterotypes and use such a derogatory term. I would also cause an uproar if I read this book or saw the title.

    roxy423

    April 10, 2010 at 2:02 am

  5. Just because the author was black does not mean saying the n-word is ok, had she been black there would be an even bigger uproar. I think she could have used a different title for the book

    tif7

    April 10, 2010 at 9:12 pm


Leave a Reply

