Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Can you speak….

with one comment

I don’t know what it is about working at Bento, but I feel like I witness the most racist comments or generalizations there.  This weekend during the Saturday night shift there were 4 of us of Asian decent.  And, while ringing up a customer I had to ask one of my co-workers a question about their order.  My co-worker came to the register with me and the customer and his daughter ignorantly asked her what something on our Asian beverage said.  My co-worker politely told him she didn’t know, and the customer responded with “you don’t know how to read Japanese!”  My co-worker and I stood there for a second in shock.  I am pretty sure my mouth was open.  The first thing that was wrong with this is none of my 4 co-workers that night of Asian decent were Japanese.  This man and even his daughter just assumed, and it made them look real ignorant.  Just goes to show you that kids learn things from their parents.  Makes me wonder if he learned this from his parents.

Written by jeanliiping

April 5, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re right, that is ignorance at it’s best. Sad to say, this happens quite often, especially with Hispanics. I have a co-worker who’s Indian, but looks Hispanic to many people. Spanish-talking people will just ramble on, until they realize he can’t speak Spanish, then have the nerve to be pissed like it’s fault because of their dumb accusations. I also witnessed Spanish-talking people get mad at Hispanic people who can’t speak Spanish. It’s crazy, but it happens alot.

    jbillingsley11

    April 5, 2010 at 10:28 pm


Leave a Reply

