Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

where you’re from

with one comment

As we were hanging out, a kid I had just met asked me what my last name was to try and guess my nationality. When he found out I was german, there was no problem. I proceeded to tell him that I was italian as well and he looked at me with disgust. I’ve never been discriminated against before, and this was only a minute taste of what minorities in our country face today. The next thing I knew we were talking about all the derogatory names for different people. I didn’t think they were correct on some of them, but they assured me that where they’re from, they know they’re racist names. I found this entertaining that someone could be proud of not only being racist but also being completely correct in their terminology. They also informed me that where they’re from, most people live in trailers, drink, and do drugs. This ties into what we went over in class about how whiteness is based on what is not black. In American media, blackness is associated with poverty. These whites, however, share in the poverty and must further degrade minorities and other races to maintain they’re sense of white supremacy.

Written by lehnertsl

April 3, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This also plays into class vs. race, in this case, obviously race, or their perception of their racial status, overrules class. I not only find this ignorant, but intriguing that someone who is the same economic status as any minority where they’re from feels the right to be degrading.

    lp0812

    April 4, 2010 at 2:02 am


Leave a Reply

