Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Tyler Perry

with 4 comments

I went to see Tyler’s Perry new movie a few hours ago and I wasn’t surprised with the outcome of people there. There were a majority of black people there and only a few whites. In class a few weeks ago we had an assignment on movies and stereotypes in them and their directors, cast and etc.

I really didn’t pay much attention to this until we had this assignment. Yes Mr. Perry is a black man, his characters are black and it have their marital problems. Is this movie targeted for black people only? I don’t think it’s targets only for a black audience but truly I don’t think a lot of white people will interested in it. The jokes, the issues and the all the drama is stereotyped more in the black community. I don’t know, this is my opinion.

Written by misssandib

April 3, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think his intentions are to target only blacks; however, as a society when a white individual sees a stereotypical ‘black’ movie, they take it upon themselves to not see it because that isn’t the norm, and as a result there are few whites in the movie theater. Unfortunately, with that outcome, it’s seen as it is only targeting a certain crowd, when in reality, its the crowd that chooses to make it that way.

    lp0812

    April 4, 2010 at 2:06 am

  2. I don’t think that these movies are directly intended for black audiences only, however, I do think that as a writer Tyler Perry crafts movies that he can relate to and thusly people who share the same experiences or opinions as him can relate to. His movies I’m sure tend to just attract the people that the movies themselves appeal to, just like any other movie would.

    iAnsw3R

    April 4, 2010 at 3:55 am

  3. I agree I don’t think he’s trying to exclude anyone, he simply produces a film that will hopefully entertain the audience

    tif7

    April 4, 2010 at 5:16 am

  4. You know it is strange how blacks will go to a white movie and watch white problems and things of that sort, but it’s never vise versa. I don’t get it? I have noticed this before

    beatitkid

    April 13, 2010 at 5:41 am


Leave a Reply

