Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

The Census

with one comment

Being the procrastinator I am, I have yet to fill out my portion of the census and mail it back in.  This is not due to the confusing language that comes on the form, I just don’t ever think about doing it.  The interesting thing I found out was how you are supposed to classify your race by looking through the choices given and choosing the terms that most apply to you.  These terms have caused some uproar in the news which I can understand, first they included the word “negro” as a descriptor for one choice.  One other impermissible fault in their racial classification system is that they did not include the choices of Latino and almost completely leaving no options for people who are from the middle east.  One writer had to choose Hispanic and then on the lines where you can specify she wrote Iranian because the Hispanic race is what she most looked like.  I think for this fact the census will not be successful, If your citizens are having trouble filling it out then it is doomed to not adequately represent each culture, which is part of the idea behind it.  Now I have to figure out how to fill it out for me, this is going to be interesting.

Written by mato89

April 3, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha. Go United States. I haven’t seen a census yet because I live in a dorm, but I’ll be sure to pay attention to this. I think it’s absurd that they wouldn’t have an option for people from the middle east. What is there to gain from that? poor data? For being so strict about making sure everyone fills one out, you would think that they would give as many options as possible to make sure they have the most accurate data possible.

    lehnertsl

    April 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

