Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

hate groups

with 6 comments

So, I’m currently enrolled in race and racism the anthropology class taught by Dr. Moore. Most interesting class and very enthusiastic teacher despite old age. We just had an exam and I was studying the notes and just couldnt get over how many ACTIVE hate groups are around. It was crazy to know that there were about 59 active kkk in Florida, the one that didnt sit well was that the imperial Klan was rght here in Gainesville. I’m not to chiper about that nor do I ever want to be in the wrong side of town. After being here for 3 years its crazy that Ive just found out about these group. I hope  none of those people who believe in those racist ideas attend this school or about to. Am I being discrimatory by saying that? I hope so because these people hang others for fun so they can get their education else where.

Written by ineeduf

March 31, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t know that they were so prevalent, but I am not that surprised that Gainesville is where the Imperial Klan rests. When people found out I would be attending UF, they would jokingly say things like “don’t get lynched” and to stay away from the country area. On the night Pres. Obama won the election, Black students were discouraged from going out alone and we were told that it was best to do any celebrating at home. Away from campus, Gainesville can definitely be a dangerous place.

    mzlisarenee

    April 1, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  2. I was really suprised to read that there are groups like that right here in gaienesville. I think that this is an educational environment and hate, and discrimination are not welcome in that environment. I can’t imagine if I had to walk around gainesville wondering if some hate groups was out to get me just because of the color of my skin.

    amgostigian

    April 1, 2010 at 7:59 pm

  3. Wow that is really scary to know and just awful. I can’t imagine walking around or sitting in a class with someone who is part of the kkk. I have heard that certain parts of Gainesville aren’t safe to be around at night but never thought it might be because of hate groups like the kkk. I also agree that this is an educational environment and hate against a certain group is not welcomed.

    roxy423

    April 3, 2010 at 2:06 am

  4. Unfortunately many hate groups exist all over the United States, including Gainesville. Take for example the group “Islam is of the Devil.” I mean really? They walk around with their children, who realistically could not possibly make up their own minds when it comes to a subject like this, talking about absurd and discriminatory accusations towards muslims. What year do we live in again?

    dmg24

    April 3, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  5. I cannot believe that a hate group is active in Gainesville, but like someone else said, I guess they are active everywhere. It is a sad matter that hate groups still exist in the United States and hopefully these groups can be broken up soon.

    tjurgonski

    April 3, 2010 at 5:27 pm

  6. Yes, I remember I researched the kkk in Florida and found that they were everywhere!!!! I mean it is the south, but goodness what is the world coming to???

    beatitkid

    April 7, 2010 at 2:02 am


Leave a Reply

