Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Asking a question…

with 3 comments

I was reading an article on Yahoo, and it was talking about how black people are familiar with the idea of having to work twice as hard as their white counterparts to make a way. Then it goes to say that it is even harder for women of color to make a living, and beat the odds. This statement is followed by statistics, and then the real question. Why is a woman, like Oprah Winfrey, condemned for her alleged lack of loyalty to the black community?

The question made me wonder the exact same thing, and that is why i am posting it here. Maybe my peers can give me better insight on this. We are all humans, and no one is perfect, but even still Oprah is a black woman in America who is considered the most successful black woman of her time.

Written by jeanliiping

March 31, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think I understand your question. Are you asking why the success of black women is usually associated with their lack of connection to the black community? If so, then I think its because blacks and success, such as Oprah’s or close to Oprah’s, is not something thats connected with positivity. Usually a successful black person is judged as either being involved in illegal activities or some form of an entertainer, such as a rapper or professional athlete. As far as Oprah goes, she has used her success to give back to the black community and help out those less fortunate regardless of race. I hope this answered your question.

    tayokam

    March 31, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  2. I can’t speak for anyone but myself, but as a human, an American, an African American and a woman I am extremely proud of Oprah and everything she has accomplished and all she has given back. I think sometimes “average” Black people (non millionaires) become frustrated that Oprah doesn’t call more attention to the problems experienced by Black Americans. What I have personally come to realize is that the reason Oprah has gained such popularity with such a diverse crowd is because she doesn’t focus on one particular group, and I don’t think she can afford to. A majority white audience is not going to want to sit through/watch episodes about the privileges they receive and the (supposedly non existent) oppression of minorities.

    mzlisarenee

    April 1, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  3. I completely agree with the second comment. I mean she has done a lot for bringing awareness to the issues facing African women, even donating millions to construct a school. It is hard for her to have episodes that showcase the troubles of African Americans in the U.S. because I think her ratings would tumble and ratings are a huge deal in the television business.

    dmg24

    April 3, 2010 at 12:50 pm


Leave a Reply

