Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

White trash bash

with 2 comments

This past weekend I went to a white trash bash at this fraternity that is know to be more southern. What was interesting was that the girls didn’t really dress like “white trash” stereotypes. The majority of the girls were in pigtails, jean shorts, and a plaid top. It was just interesting how these girls thought that this kind of attire was considered “white trash.” That is the same attire that the men wear everyday to class. Did these girls think that the men were white trash? There was also not a single black person there. When I was walking around there house I saw a confederate flag and a sign next to it saying something along the lines of “if you don’t like it then leave.” I think being in this class has opened my eyes to racial issues that are around me every day.

Written by amgostigian

March 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds more like the girls were dressing to go to a rodeo, which isn’t white trash at all. I mean what exactly is white trash? Who gets to make that decision of what is or isn’t? I know this is America, and people have the right to believe what they want to beileve, but a confederate flag with a line like that next to it is just sad. I definetly would have left.

    jeanliiping

    March 31, 2010 at 2:10 pm

  2. what is white trash? Now that flag would have really disturbed me. I would have said something to them about it

    gwendo89

    April 1, 2010 at 3:39 am


Leave a Reply

