Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Fed Up

leave a comment »

It’s upsetting that each week something new happens that gives me inspiration for my blog. It’s sad because it’s almost always something that has been said or done with complete ignorance and disregard for the feelings of another individual. Sadly, this week was no exception. Last night at The Hands Down Competition I went to go sit with the rest of my team after we performed. A member of the audience who was sitting nearby said to us that our performance was really good, but that it just wasn’t meant for this competition. One of the members of my team responded by saying that she realized that as soon as we walked in and she was able to see the crowd. Usually, this would be the point in time that I would jump in and start an educational debate on the issue. But last night, I was so discouraged that I didn’t even say anything, which is quite unlike me. I look back now and regret that I said nothing, but I feel like everything would have just been in vain. I found myself feeling like some people are just ignorant, and nothing that I said would change that.

Written by elianita514

March 28, 2010 at 3:52 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

