Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

on the elevator

with 5 comments

a while back when I was on the elevator going to one of my classes, a white girl who had on head phones and was obviously listening to rap music, because it was so loud in the quiet elevator, and there was also a white boy and one other person on the elevator. when the white boy heard the music he automatically turned back to look at me, when it’smore than obvious that the music could not even be heard from my direction, and thought it was me but he  seen I was not wearing any headphones and not listening to any music and then he turned around and looked at the white girl and the look on his face showed that he was so shocked to see the white girl listening to the music instead. Stereotypes still persist whether we want to believe it or not.

Written by alyssa1965

March 27, 2010 at 11:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yea him looking at me would have made me get really short tempered. I would probaly have voiced my opinion out loud. But, I’m glad he got an eye opener and you werent the one with the loud ipod.

    ineeduf

    March 27, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  2. He isn’t the only person like that. Most white people I know have certain stereotypes of black people whether they like to admit it or not. Even if it’s something really small. Its sad but its reality.

    rphilp88

    March 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm

  3. Music is music. Race should have nothing to do with the type of music you should be listening to. As for the kid on the elevator, he has some issues he needs to work through regarding stereotypes and race. Society definitely helped him out with that though.

    lehnertsl

    March 27, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  4. I agree with the sentiment music is music and that race should not come into play when listening to the music an individual happens to favor. The man on the elevator would have got me a little angry if he actually took the time to turn around and look at me even though the music wasn’t coming from my direction.

    mato89

    March 27, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  5. Seriously that guy was an idiot why would he look back knowing the music was coming from another direction.

    tif7

    March 28, 2010 at 3:07 am


Leave a Reply

