Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

LOL…no not so much!

with 3 comments

 So this always happen especially to me and I love it when it does because I play along real good. People  of the opposite race seem to want to go into this full slang when they have a conversation with me, despite the fact that I speak proper English and rarely even use the word “aint.”  Like why do white guys think its funny to say crap like “what it is homie”. Or more recently my Lab TA was assisting me in a problem and I told him he was wrong about something he double checked in his manuel and said “oh yea my bad”. My friend started laughing but I twisted my face and put the most perplexed face I could give and said “huh? what does that mean?..are you bad? somethings bad excuse me?..I dont get it”. and then we had an akward silence for atleast 25 seconds and I kept a straight face. He looked confused and I started laughing to ease his tension but I really had to prove my point my friend said that was really mean but I dont care anyone who does that to a minority deserves to be messed with. FLIP THE SCRIPT AND LET THEM SEE ITS NOT FUNNY!

Written by ineeduf

March 27, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I understand where you’re coming from with whites thinking that because you’re a minority you don’t speak proper english. However, I think you’re also stereotyping yourself as well. Whites use phrases like “my bad” and “ain’t” not because they’re trying to immitate minorities or talk like they believe they tslk. Whites use slang too.

    lehnertsl

    March 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  2. I actually find this really amusing, because I notice it myself when someone I know talks to an individual a certain way because of assumptions they have made based on the color of their skin. I feel that the way you dealt with the situation was very appropriate!

    elianita514

    March 28, 2010 at 12:16 am

  3. I definitely understand what you mean and this happen to me all the time at home. When I walk in my apartment and my roommates (who are white) have people over they always say something like ‘hey homie whats good’ but they talk ‘normal’ when I’m not in the room. Sometimes I wonder if the are even conscious of what they are doing. I think I’ll definitely have to try your approach next time it happens.

    mzlisarenee

    March 28, 2010 at 4:38 pm


Leave a Reply

