Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

March Madness Craziness

with 4 comments

I was sitting in my dorm last week watching the NCAA march madness basketball tournament when all of a sudden my phone vibrated. I picked it up and it was a text from one of my friends and the conversation went as follow:

Friend: hey guess what

Me: I’m sure you are about to tell me.

Friend: I just noticed that there aren’t a lot of spanish that play college or even professional basketball.

Me: uhh you need to go and researched that because I can tell you off the top of my head of more than 10 players in the NBA along that are spanish

Friend: I never noticed that. Maybe it’s because I think of most of them as construction workers.

that last text right there got me so angry that i stop texting her and honestly if she was near me and had said that, I probably would’ve lost it and swing on her or something because I couldn’t believe that she would actually say that and the worse part about it is that she was dead wrong too. after that text I stopped texting her and to my surprise she kept texting me even though I was not replying and finally I got tired and told her to go walk in the middle of traffic and let a bus or something hit her. And as a result of this, I don’t think I will ever see her the same ever again!

Written by jobyjob

March 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally do not blame you for being so upset. That comment was completely uncalled for and very offensive. She is completely wrong and that completely falls into the stereotype that people believe that most Hispanics are construction workers.

    cristyb7513

    March 27, 2010 at 1:03 am

  2. some of these stereotypes are ridiculous. I have seen plenty and I do mean plenty of construction workers of all races. comments like that should be kept to yourself because it’s pure ignorance.

    alyssa1965

    March 27, 2010 at 11:39 am

  3. yea I think you should edit the post and change her title to ne found foe. I feel this class has opened alot of our eyes and also made it more easier to speak out about it and not sound ignorant. Before this class I’ve seen alot of people begin there sentence with that. That means more people are no longer letting people get away with prejudice and racism towards others. We are surely making a difference with a small group

    ineeduf

    March 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  4. My eyes actually went wide when I finished reading that. Unfortunately, these stereotypes probably aren’t going anywhere no matter how many people disprove them. Chances are your friend thought she was being hilarious. In a way, this class is making us all open our to the extreme racism that goes on everyday that we simply tossed to the side as a joke.

    dippity09

    March 27, 2010 at 8:38 pm


Leave a Reply

