Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Stereotypical Commercials

with 2 comments

So recently, I was watching MTV Jams. I’m not one to usually watch this channel or show but it was on. A commercial came on that was seemed to just reinforce stereotypes of African Americans.

The commercial was for a Pre paid credit card. Almost every person that appeared in the commercial was African American. Also, the cards had designs from brands (ex. Baby Phat) that would generally be associated with them as well. To me it just seemed like they were trying to reinforce the stereotype of blacks/A.Americans having bad credit and needing to use something like this when it’s necessary to use a credit card.

My friend even commented on the fact that it seemed like this commercial was really aimed at blacks. he said that “if a white person was the spokesperson in a commercial like that, it’d be considered racist.”

With that, my theory is again proven true. It’s not racist until you make it racist. Do you think that this commercial could be taken by blacks as racist, discriminatory or anything of that matter? It just seemed odd to me to see an all black commercial.

Written by melp8

March 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know what commercial you are talking about and when I thought about it, I did think this was geared more towards blacks because that was the only people in the commercial but I can’t say if that was the true intentions but commercials still do coontain stereotypes.

    alyssa1965

    March 24, 2010 at 5:22 pm

  2. Well I think part of the reason this particular commercial was geared towards Blacks was because the creator/owner Russell Simmons is Black and he probably figured, seeing as he has more familiarity with Blacks, it would be the best group to target. I am not offended by it but I can say that other commercials such as the Black McDonalds ad are more than annoying. They always include the actors singing or rapping and I tihnk they really should take a new approach to trying to attract African Americans.

    mzlisarenee

    March 28, 2010 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

