Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Discrimination in Apartment Leasing Offices

with 6 comments

Recently I was having a conversation with a male guy friend  (who’s African-American) and he was telling that he just realized his apartment complex was charging him $60 more than his white roommate. The only way he found out was because they sent him a letter stating that when he renews his lease there is going to be an increase in rent and he happened to ask his roommate if he received the same letter and then they starting talking about how much they pay for rent already. They both moved into the apartment at the same time and their rooms are identical so I was shocked when I heard this. I could not believe that this kind of discrimination was taking place in Gainesville. After finding out that his roommate pays less than him he went to the office and spoke to them about it and even told them that he felt this happened because of his race. Clearly that was the case because they ended up lowering his rent to the same amount that his white roommate pays. It is sad that my friend had to go through all of this in order to receive equal treatment. I’m sure that happens a lot and people are just not aware that they are being taken advantage of unless they happen to ask.

Written by taishae

March 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Incidents like these make me so angry. They were obviously charging him more to discourage him from living there. I’m curious to know how his roommate responded. Did he give the “it’s just a misunderstanding; why play the race card?” rhetoric?

    chrissybear

    March 24, 2010 at 11:37 pm

  2. I can’t believe this happened. I try to be extra cautios when looking for apartments because I’m looking by myself and I don’t have any help and I know things like this can happen. What makes me so mad is that these leasing offices do it without any guilt. Its as if they want to be sued.

    alyssa1965

    March 25, 2010 at 11:09 am

  3. It’s a shame to see that people still discriminate in ways such as these. But this is how most racism occurs today, in covert manners where many people don’t realize it. I’m positive that discreet racism such as this happen all the time.

    bmcdaniel91

    March 25, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  4. Whoa that is crazy that they did that to him. I wouldve been mad. Somebody would have to credit me those 60 dollars per month i was paying extra, especially if they couldnt find another reason they were charging me.

    misssandib

    March 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  5. this is extremely sad that people are still being punished because of their race and if that was me, I would make sure that I get all those extra 60 bucks that I paid for rent!!!

    jobyjob

    March 26, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  6. WOW!! I would be mad too! That apartment complex is very bold! I can’t believe that in this day and age apartments are still doing this bs!

    rphilp88

    March 27, 2010 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

