Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Segregation in University

with 3 comments

This is a topic we have covered in class before. Growing up in South Florida I was always aware of segregation and racism, but never experienced it. Since I’ve been at UF I did not personally experience racism nor seen it happen to anyone but I have definitely seen segregation. UF is one university split in two. From the daily and major events to the two homecomings held every year. This behavior is even seen when walking around campus. The people handing out fliers to events usually only hand the flier to people they think might actually show up and of course the only thing they have to judge a person on is the color of their skin. This kind of shocked me when I first realized it, but then I remembered UF was one of the last universities to become integrated. After our discussion in class about this I asked one of my friends at USF if it was the same way and she said it was. Also one of my friends from FAMU came to visit and was shocked to hear that we had black AND white sororities and that just about everything on campus is a black OR white event.

Written by tayokam

March 21, 2010 at 12:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t really feel like the campus is as segregated as you mentioned. I personally feel like I am constantly surrounded by minorirties in my classes and at the library. I even live in a dorm and there are many minorities that live there. As far as the sororities go I believe that it is a personal preference. The university cannot force a white person to join a multicultural sorority or a Panhellenic sorority to extend a bid to a minority just to become diversified.

    amgostigian

    March 21, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  2. I really never thought of the campus as segregated until after being in this class. It is true that there are black and white sororities and fraternities and that in the dorms and classes there are minorities but that doesnt necessary mean that the campus is not segregated. It just means that the campus is diversified and intergrated to a certain extent. There are many events that clearly are geared toward one race or another such as fiss. I also find it odd that we have two separate homecomings. It is easy for us not to see it as segregation because we visually see minorities in our classes, on campus etc but that doesnt mean that segregation is non-existent here.

    deanna15

    March 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

  3. I do believe that the University has made progression as far as becoming a integrated and diverse school, but as said before, there is segregation. I personally never have many minorities in my class, in fact, since I been here at the University of Florida, our class is the only one that I have had that doesn’t only have three minorities(with myself included).

    eclass08

    March 23, 2010 at 1:14 am


Leave a Reply

