Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Segregated town

with 2 comments

Today I met this girl and we were talking for quite a while. I started asking her about her background and she was doing the same. Pretty much, we were just getting to know each other and at some point during that conversation, she mentioned that  I should go visit her hometown with her which is outside of Jacksonville. When she told me that I remember that she told me that where she is from, it’s a town of redneck. After she invited me to go to her hometown with her, I was joking and asked her won’t the people in her town look at me different since I will be the only black kid in town, and she was like hell yes. The idea of the people in her town looking at me didn’t surprise as much as hearing her admit that they would because she told me, there is not one black person around where she’s from and it was kind of surprising to hear her say that they would look at me in a weird way.

Written by jobyjob

March 21, 2010 at 12:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The idea that places like this still exsist only shows that as a nation we have not progressed and no matter how much effort individuals and our government put into making the nation integregrated it may never happen. Thinking about this makes me sad because growing up I always thought this nation would one day see improvement. Don’t get me wrong, I never expected it to happen overnight, but now I see that people will always be stuck in there ways and it may never happen.

    tayokam

    March 21, 2010 at 12:41 am

  2. I might feel a little awarkard from everyone looking at me especially since I am the only black person too. Its a shame that towns still exist like this. I would not want to live in a place like this becuase I like being in a diverse enviroment. Seeing all the same type of people can get boring for me.

    misscandib21

    March 21, 2010 at 2:29 am


Leave a Reply

