Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Library

with 2 comments

Today I was in the library studying and someone asked me to watch their stuff while they went down to Starbucks. This wouldn’t seem like a big deal but sitting next to me was a black girl. I couldn’t help but wonder if she asked me to watch her things because she trusted me more because I was white. Am I more likely not to take anything or be more vigilant because of the color of my skin? I know this doesn’t seem like a big deal but ever since I have been in this class it makes me think about these things.

Written by amgostigian

March 21, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think she meant anything by it, she probably just asked the first person she turned to because she really wanted something from Starbucks. Also you said the black girl was beside you so the girl running to Starbucks possibly asked the person closest to her.

    tayokam

    March 22, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  2. You never know because some people don’t even trust their own race but I do think what the first person said is definitely more likely.

    alyssa1965

    March 24, 2010 at 5:32 pm


Leave a Reply

