Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

ggw

with one comment

I was at a club the other night and I was dancing with guys of every race. All night I received comments about how I was a good dancer for a white girl. At some point I told someone that I had a boyfriend and the guy proceeded to ask me if my boyfriend was white. When I said yes, he told me that there was no way a white guy could appreciate my curves like he did. I couldn’t help but laugh. I guess it is true that black and hispanic cultures are more accepting of curves but to say that a white person couln’t appreciate them struck me the wrong way. Since when does society and the media get to dictate who can appreciate certain characteristics of people? It made me feel like because I’m white I’m supposed to be a stick and because I’m not a stick, that I shouldn’t be with a white guy. I don’t think the way you look, whether it’s shape, size, or skin color, should dictate who you can or should be with.

Written by lehnertsl

March 19, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with you and understand why that comment didn’t sit well with you. But honestly, when a lot of guys go to the club they have this whole alter ego that they turn into, and often say the most ridiculous things to try and get a girls attention. It’s really sad but a lot of the crap they say is ludicrous, on so many different levels.

    elianita514

    March 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

