Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Downtown Night Life

with 2 comments

I enjoy partying at clubs in downtown gainesville. But i have noticed When clubs let out police only patrol certain areas heavily. For example, when i attend plasma which is  a predominately black club there are way more police outside of the club when it lets out and also officers that monitor the outside while the club is in session. I have also attended club 101 downtown on saturday which is a  predominately  a white club and there is not as near as many police officers as there are at the African American clubs. Why is this? I feel as if the clubs are equal both are college clubs and both have just as many fight and issues as the other.

Written by gwendo89

March 18, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you bring up a very interesting point. I myself do not frequent Gainesville clubs and therefore have never noticed. However, I live in an area that has low income housing right next door and cops are always patrolling or stationed right in front of the complex. So I think its a reoccurring issue not just at clubs. Cops tend to assume where more they are needed based on race, class, and probably gender.

    dmg24

    March 18, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  2. I agree, however, while I have never been to any of the clubs in Gainesville, I can tell you that in other aspects of society police always tend to concentrate around places that they view as being problem areas, such as popular teen hangouts and unfortunately as well in poor or minority neighborhoods, I do find your observations to be rather disturbing and also backs up the claim that police can be very very discriminating

    matthewcel

    March 19, 2010 at 2:18 am


Leave a Reply

