Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Fight Averted

with 4 comments

My boyfriend, bestfriend and I stayed in South Beach, Miami over Spring Break. We had an awesome time, but there were a few incidents that were really upsetting to us. The first occurred during our first night at dinner. My boyfriend is white and I am black, so we’re used to getting a few stares when we go out. However, some people’s reactions, especially when they’re are tipsy, are just obnoxious. While enjoying dinner, I noticed a black girl staring at me. When she realised I caught her staring, she complimented my hair and then quickly asked me if the guy sitting beside me was my boyfriend. Odd. I told her he was, and she said he was cute. Odd. All the while I could hear her guy friends that were with her snickering. After they left, my boyfriend told me he heard the guys call him a “spick.” I guess they thought he was Hispanic. (We were in Miami). I usually argue that it’s impossible for black people to be racist, but in cases like these, it’s obvious that they can be. Would their behavior be any worse if our races were reversed and they called my boyfriend a “nigger?”

Written by chrissybear

March 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I actually think white people are more hesitant to call a black person a “nigger” than a black person is to call a white person a redneck or a Hispanic “spic”…I think no matter what, there will be people from every race that are racist and do not approve of interracial relationships.

    amgostigian

    March 18, 2010 at 12:00 am

  2. I think incidents like this get me angry. Why is it anyones place to judge who you talk to, date, like, or love. We can’t help who we love.. white, black, asian, middle eastern, man, woman- we just love. I think people like this are ignorant and have been told all their life that people don’t mix, and when they go out to a place where it is very mixed get a wake up call. I am sorry you have to encouter that at all.

    jeanliiping

    March 18, 2010 at 3:17 pm

  3. I think people need to get over judging people over who they are in a relationship with. By making rude comments such as these to someone is really ignorant and those people should realize that they are in the wrong when doing so. I guess that there are always going to be rude and racist, regardless of their race.

    tjurgonski

    March 19, 2010 at 1:36 am

  4. I think society in general is obsessed with observing other people and picking out their flaws or what they don’t perceive to be the norm. Take a look at our obsession with the tabloids and about celebrities. Not one person in the news stop to wonder if we really should be paying this much attention to Tiger Woods, or most recently Sandra Bullock. Society also does not like people who are out of the norm, and this is why you were teased, its sad but it is true. Until society stops buying tabloids, and obsessing over who screwed up now, we will always have this problem

    matthewcel

    March 19, 2010 at 2:24 am


Leave a Reply

