Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

being white

with 2 comments

So I’m in the Bahamas on a cruise. Being white has never been so apparent to me in my entire life. First, when we got off the boat, I immediately became aware of how white I am. People look to sell you stuff, little kids are asking you for a dollar if they sing you a song. Two of my friends that came on the cruise with us are black and they didn’t recieve nearly as much hassle from street vendors. Also, when our group split up, we asked someone to be on the look out for a 6’9 kid in a greeen shirt. I then said that we should probably mention that the 6’9 kid was black since everyone I was with at the time was white and people assume you travel with others that look like you. I’m not sure if it was this class that made me think of these type of things or if they would have occurred to me on their own. Regardless, I’ve never felt so white in my life.

Written by lehnertsl

March 6, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been on a crusie to the bahamas too and now that you mention it I’ve seen that too. It happens pretty much everywhere, jamaica, grand cayman, and mexico. This class has made me notice things i probably would have not seen before. As for this incident i dont know how hard it is to find someone who’s 6’9 i mean thats pretty tall and skin color is just another identifying feature when you’re trying to have someone found, i dont think you’d have to mention that he was black because you were white.

    dgomez823

    March 7, 2010 at 3:44 am

  2. funny, I have a white teacher who said that when she went to Africa all the children would follow her and ask to touch her skin. They would always say that they wanted to go where the white lady went… I think that whites are universally looked at as superior

    beatitkid

    April 13, 2010 at 5:49 am


Leave a Reply

