Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

what race are your professors?

with 4 comments

I was thinking about what was said in class a few days ago about how the racial makeup of the professors at UF, even in the sociology department, is predominantly White. As I looked at this in terms of my own schedule going all the way back to elementary school, I have found how true this is. This semester I have my first Black instructor (in 14.5 years of education…) as well as my first 2 Indian (from actual India, not Native American) professors. And in retrospect I think I have certainly been missing out by not having a diverse array of teachers and professors. It’s not that they are better, but they truly bring experiences that are different than any (white) teacher/professor I’ve had. So, maybe having minority as well as white instructors isn’t a matter of being “fair” or enforcing affirmative action or whatever, but I think it does provide a more complete experience for all students.

Written by mzlisarenee

March 4, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it is good to have teachers and professors from all ethnicities because every person has a background and life lessons that they can share and help us learn things in a new perspective.

    cristyb7513

    March 5, 2010 at 4:03 am

  2. I have to agree with you, I have not had very many minorities as teachers either. I have never had an African American teacher, but I have had a few Indian teachers as well. I think that having teachers from different backgrounds does help broaden your outlook.

    tjurgonski

    March 5, 2010 at 6:09 am

  3. I’ve had all white professors for my classes.

    Eventually, the typical teacher (white and female) will be the minority in the classroom. We need more minorities to get into the teaching profession and maybe it would definitely change things.

    melp8

    March 6, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  4. I agree that many good things could come from having a more diverse teaching staff. It seems to me that people tend to gain respect for people that they learn something from, and this could help give people a more accepting attitude towards other races, especially if taught by people of other races earlier on in life. I have had few minority teachers in my schooling experience, and this semester I have three white professors and one professor who I believe is from India, so the lack of minority professors seems to be a widespread trend unfortunately.

    iAnsw3R

    March 7, 2010 at 3:43 am


Leave a Reply

