Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Who does he think he is?

with 6 comments

Yesterday I was on the phone with one of my friends, and she was telling me about a guy who messaged her that she met back in December. She met him at a party and she kept going on and on about how funny he was. She then proceeds to tell me how she was upset that he had messaged her. I couldn’t understand why she’d be so upset that he messaged her when they seemed to hit if off really well. She tells me that hes black and he has a lot of nerve for thinking that he could ever believe he could be with a white girl. Then she says, “I wish I wasn’t so racist” and then proceeds to laugh! I was in complete shock by this. I felt she was proud of being racist and thinking she was better that this guy. I kind of made me realize that I would never of caught that or evern thought about it for that matter if it wasn’t for being in this class. I also think that she saw me as a confidant because I have known her for six years and felt comfortable being so candid.

Written by amgostigian

March 2, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow that’s just sad. Why would she even lead that guy on if she is racist and wasn’t interested in him. For her to think that she is better than him just because he is black, and then have the nerve to joke about it is just ignorant. She really needs to take a look in the mirror and evaluate herself, I know she wouldn’t want anyone to do that to her.

    eclass08

    March 3, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  2. This story is just crazy! If she didnt want to talk to him in the first place whether it be because of his race or whatever why did she give him her number? I feel like she has a lot of nerve discriminating against someone or feeling that she is better than someone because of her race as if she is someone of real importance in this world like the president or something. How would she feel if someone did that to her?

    taishae

    March 4, 2010 at 1:06 am

  3. This is so disgusting if she really wasn’t even interested in him then why give your number. To discriminate someone because of their race is wrong, because he is black he isn’t good enough to talk to you a white girl in that matter. This a problem a white person thinking they are better. A black man can’t be a gentle men and respectable? If anything she is the lower person in this situation!

    roxy423

    March 7, 2010 at 3:51 am

  4. Seriously!? Was leading him on necessary? Then she has the nerve to speak as though she is so highly regarded…ridiculous

    tif7

    March 7, 2010 at 4:08 am

  5. Yea why did she do that? I mean yes people have a choice on who they want to talk to but dang. Thats just crazy.

    misssandib

    March 7, 2010 at 4:54 am

  6. The fact that you found what she said disturbing actually makes you a better person than her. Just because someone is a certain color, doesn’t make them less of an individual than the next. She was actually saying that, if he wasn’t black, he would actually have a chance with her. What she doesn’t realize is that being a certain race isn’t a choice, it is just the way you are born, so how can she hold him responsible for being black? It even sounded stupid when I was writing it!

    rphilp88

    March 7, 2010 at 7:42 pm


Leave a Reply

