Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

What do you say now?

with 3 comments

Ok so last night me and my friends were going to the movies. I don’t remember how was it that we ended up talking about this movie coming up (the funeral I think) and how we all wanted to go see it. But, all of the sudden one of my friends made the comment of how it wouldn’t be a good idea to go watch that movie in the movie theater because a lot of blacks would go too. Because I didn’t understand his point, I asked him why was that. He said that because they were really loud and we wouldn’t be able to hear “plus blacks act stupid when they are not alone.” I tried to explain my friends how that was a stereotype and that even if it was true NOT ALL BLACKS were like that. So now the discussion between me and 4 of my friends was about how “yes all blacks are like that” and mr saying no. But, when we acctually got to the movies the one we wanted to see wassokd out and the only one that was available for that time was “Cop out.” when we entered the room there was a group of around six or seven African Americans sitting all the way in the back. And guess what? They were sooooo loud that we couldn’t really hear sometimes. That’s not the bad thing. The really bad and uncomfortable thing was having ALL MY FRUENDS staring at me and telling me “so what do u say now?.”

Written by lisbecita

February 28, 2010 at 8:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You shouldn’t have to say anything, the people in the back were probably all friends, and friends usually and unfortunatly talk during movies, I’ve been seated around plently of people of all races that have talked loudly in a movie, your friends are just thinking too narrowly

    matthewcel

    February 28, 2010 at 6:09 pm

  2. I agree with the comment above, friends usually talk loud in movie theaters, no matter what race they are.

    eclass08

    March 1, 2010 at 10:25 am

  3. I can definitely relate because a lot of my friends hold the same stereotypes toward blacks. Every time someone black is loud in a movie theatre, commits a crime, or acts obnoxious people see this as a affirmation of the stereotype. I media even depicts these stereotypes in popular culture.

    amgostigian

    March 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

