Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Reality TV

with 3 comments

I was watching a show a while back and it was some reality TV show with a bunch of contestants in a house together. One of the contestants was doing another girl’s nails and the girl getting her nails done said “you’re so good at this!” while a bystander continued with “of course, she’s Asian!”.  The comment was clearly racial stereotyping and shouldn’t have been said but it was silly, and I don’t think she meant any harm by it.  However, the entire house FREAKED out and chastised this contestant for HOURS…screaming that she was a “racist bitch”, not talking to her unless to scream obscenities, avoiding her room, talking loudly about her to one another in an adjoining room so that she could hear, it was ridiculous!! She even apologized and said she meant nothing of it, it was a silly stereotype and she felt bad but NOTHING could get these people off their hate rant. Now, stereotypes are mean but guess what, we ALL have been victim and have used them and if we’ve ever been called out on it, we feel bad and we immediately apologize and re-think our actions.  I felt bad for this girl, she said something stupid and after taking it back, no one would budge and forgive her.  If someone made a blatant stereotype about me, I’d probably be pissed too but I would probably let it go within minutes if there was an apology and a public recognition of stupidity.

Written by cgator19

February 28, 2010 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know why’ but I don’t get mad when someone makes stereotypes about me. Because there are really accurate stereotypes as well as really bad ones and hurtful. But this was taken to next level! Poor girl!

    lisbecita

    February 28, 2010 at 8:51 am

    • Yea I totally agree, maybe it’s just us but I’m the same way…I don’t ever really get upset about stereotypes. I felt bad for her :-/

      cgator19

      February 28, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  2. I feel bad for her too. I really don’t think that she meant anything by it but its also reality tv and they are hired to produce ratings. Screaming and yelling at people unfortunately produced ratings.

    amgostigian

    March 2, 2010 at 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

