Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Race and Red Lobster

with 3 comments

While visiting a Red Lobster last weekend I was waiting for a table when one of the seaters came up to let the hostess know a table was free. Instead of telling the hostess, the seater looked in the book which contains the names of people waiting for a table and I saw her mouth my name. But instead of calling it out she looked around the room to see if there was someone who fit the name. In the waiting area there were only a few white couples and I was seated by the bar with  my friend(we’re both black). When she didn’t she anyone that fit the name that was in the book she skipped my name and called someone else but the hostess stopped her and called my name out. I was very surprised by this because she used a racist method to seat people. A name doesn’t determine how someone looks nor does it determine race. At first I thought that I was being a little sensitive but even my friend noticed and said something to me.

Written by taishae

February 27, 2010 at 1:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s ridiculous. I know someone who was a hostess and accused of racially profiling names before seating them and was fired for it. It’s definitely a problem that doesn’t get enough attention. Discrimination and racial profiling as a whole aren’t addressed enough.

    lehnertsl

    February 27, 2010 at 5:45 pm

  2. This is pretty sad. I do not want to believe this happened because it just seems so ignorant. People tend to associate certain names with certain races but it seems really foolish. Parents name their kids names that they like for some reason and it should not play a part on how someone is treated.

    dmg24

    February 27, 2010 at 6:33 pm

  3. Oh I hate when that happens. I am African American also and this happens to me all the time.I won’t state my name, but my name doesn’t sound “Black” as people call it, but whenever lets say a teacher is doing roll call on the first day of school and a name like “takeisha” come up, they always look at me or some other black girl. I hate that!!!!

    beatitkid

    March 6, 2010 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

