Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Pulling the “race card”

with 2 comments

I remember when I was in school, students would always say to the teacher “it’s because I’m black.” Why does everything always get assumed that whatever action is racist?

I’m an education major and if one of my students were to say that to me, I would probably have to tell them to never say that to me again because it offends me to no end. It’s something I really can not stand and to me makes the person look very ignorant. Just because someone is  black they feel that everything is happening to them because of the color of their skin or because they are associated with the race.  White people can’t say “oh it’s because I’m white” when they’re insulted by something. It doesn’t work the same way.

Just my opinion. One of my friends was telling me about one of her classmates saying that to her teacher recently over something as silly as moving seats and being pointed out in class for being disruptive.

Written by melp8

February 27, 2010 at 3:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think this statement is anything to be upset over because, just like all Americans, Black people joke about things that really are not funny. It isn’t funny that Black people truly are racially profiled or receive harsher punishments for equal crimes, but it reflects the American way of sometimes making light of serious issues. I admit I say this too (but usually to other Black people) just as a joke. And while it really isn’t funny when it happens for real, recognize that sometimes it feels good to make a joke over something that happens to us because it’s hard to always think about the serious side of things.

    mzlisarenee

    February 27, 2010 at 4:19 pm

  2. I understand mzlisarenee and think what she’s saying is true. At the same time however, I don’t think it’s right if the minorty say’s it very seriously, not just a ‘joke’, for so many things, trying to blame everything on their race and wanting special treatment because of it. One day some friends and I were out together and something happened to ALL of us. I saw this as just a slap in the face and a really messed up situation, but I didn’t even think to blame it on our race, which my friends did. It is true that minorities experience racism in different forms of discrimination, but if we blame everything on that how can we ever expect things to improve?

    elianita514

    February 27, 2010 at 9:31 pm


Leave a Reply

