Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Ignorant Comment

with 5 comments

So my brother is a hispanic male and his fiance is white, raised in a small town in Florida. While going on a trip down to Miami to visit our parents, she brings up the conversation dealing with baby names. My brother and I have a pretty hispanic last name, “Gonzalez,” so my brother jokingly tells her that they should name their kid something like, “Pedro” or “Juan.” His fiance answers, “Don’t you think having a hispanic last name is enough? Why would I give my child a hispanic sounding name as well?” Although she probably did not mean it as a personal attack, I found her comment extremely frustrating and ignorant. Why would having a hispanic last name be so repulsive as she made it seem? Is it not good enough? It is the mentality that affects whether or not hispanics get jobs and move up in social status. It is very disappointing that someone would say this. It kind of reminds me of Barack Obama being pushed to change his name for his campaign. I think one should be proud of where they came from and in a lot of cases, your name can reflect that.

Written by dmg24

February 27, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow this would have really upset me as well. When i have kids one day I certainly plan on giving them a name synonymous with our culture. If we try and hide from any sort of repercussions that may come from that, things will never change. We need to wear our names with pride and hopefully your brother doesn’t give their child a ‘white’ name simply because he fears the consequences of having a Hispanic name.

    elianita514

    February 27, 2010 at 9:26 pm

  2. Well we can obviously see you’re going to have fun with your sister in law. A name shouldn’t really matter, my parents named me and my siblings with all English names but we still have a Hispanic last name. However I think aside from actions its also how you look, for me anyways. I have green eyes and blond hair and people would never guess i wasn’t born here. Hopefully your nephew/niece does well in life no matter what their name is.

    dgomez823

    February 27, 2010 at 11:23 pm

  3. I agree with you guys that this comment is very ignorant and somewhat saddening, but being from a mixed background I can see both sides maybe wanting a piece of their culture to be represented in their child. I believe this is what the female was trying to do in this case, she just went about it the wrong way with blatant, ignorant comments.

    mato89

    February 28, 2010 at 1:45 am

  4. I also find this comment as ignorant and frustrating to hear. Even though some people don’t mean any harm by saying these things but somthimes they should think about what they are actually saying. This exact situation happened to my cousin.

    misscandib21

    February 28, 2010 at 4:48 am

  5. I really don’t understand why she doesn’t want to use Hispanic names. She is about to marry a hispanic male and if she doesn’t like the idea of her child being hispanic and embracing the culture then maybe she should reconsider if she really wants to get married.

    amgostigian

    March 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm


Leave a Reply

